The artist is nothing without the gift, but the gift is nothing without work.

EMILE ZOLA

Running is an art …..
So maybe we need a little bit of a gift ….
But even when we have the gift, we need to do a little bit of work …

Endurance – it’s more than just competing in ultra distance races – it is more than simply running. It’s the lifestyle of never looking for the easy way out. It’s finding opportunities whatever the situation. It is a freedom, if you have the courage to seize that freedom. It’s an exploration towards the edge. For each of us this ‘edge’ will be in a different place. And that place will be constantly changing. It is the journey to find that edge which maybe teaches us more about ourselves.

But back to the moment …
Another weekend, another race – 78km in the Graubunden. I’ll make the start-line, but with cracked ribs and sore grazes from the last race – I’ve come to an edge before I even start. And the last race – less than two weeks ago – the IAU World Trail Championships (68km and ±3500m) – Bronze Medal for Great Britain. Just a little bit of the magic seemed to come back …. until my head forgot to race, and I fell, and I fell again!

So for now my work is to allow things just to flow, just to be what they will … and to run for the love of it. One step at a time.

